About Ken

***Please note that Dr. Craig is currently not accepting any graduate students.***


Ph.D.,    1964, Purdue University, Clinical Psychology

Fellow in Medical Psychology, University of Oregon Medical School, 1962-63

M.A.,     1960, University of British Columbia, Psychology

B.A.,      1958, Sir George Williams University (Concordia University), Liberal Arts


Chair, Behavioural Research Ethics Board (B), University of British Columbia, 2008-

Director, UBC Health Research Resources Office (HeRRO),

Office of the Vice-President, Research, 2005-2010

Full Professor (and earlier ranks), Department of Psychology, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, B.C., 1963-present

Senior Investigator, Canadian Institutes of Health Research, 2000-2007

Registered Psychologist, British Columbia (Reg. No.: 2), 1977-2008

Associate Dean, Faculty of Graduate Studies, University of British Columbia, 1996-2000

Director, Graduate Programme in Clinical Psychology, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, B.C., 1980-1982, 1987-1991

Consulting Psychologist, Regional Psychiatric Centre (Pacific), Correctional Service of Canada, 1984-1994

Member of Scientific Research Staff, Shaughnessy Hospital, Vancouver, B.C., 1977-1985

Canada Council Fellow, Department of Psychiatry, University of Oxford, Oxford, England, 1978-79

Associate Professor, Department of Psychology, University of Calgary, Calgary, Alberta, 1969-7l

Predoctoral Intern in Medical Psychology, University of Oregon Medical School, Portland, Oregon, 1962-63


2010 Honorary Member, International Association for the Study of Pain

2008 Gold Medal Award for Distinguished Contributions to Canadian Psychology

Canadian Psychological Association

2004 Canadian Pain Society Distinguished Career Award

2003 Distinguished Scholar in Residence, Peter Wall Institute for Advanced Studies, University of British Columbia

2002 Canadian Psychological Association Donald O. Hebb Award for Distinguished Contributions to Psychology as a Science

2002 American Pain Society, Jeffrey Lawson Award for Advocacy in Children’s Pain Relief

2000-2007 Canadian Institutes of Health Research, Senior Investigator

2000 I.W. Killam Prize for Excellence in Teaching, University of British Columbia

1996 Canadian Psychological Association  Award for Distinguished Contributions to Education and Training

1992 1993The Canada Council I.W. Killam Senior Research Fellow

1991 University of British Columbia I.W. Killam Research Prize

1991 Canadian Psychological Association  Award for Distinguished Contributions to Psychology as a Profession

1989-90 Killam Senior Fellow, University of British Columbia,.

1987 British Columbia Psychological Association, Park O. Davidson Award (For outstanding contributions to the knowledge-base of psychology)

1977 Canada Council Fellowship,.


Pain Research and Management

Editor-in-Chief, 2006-2011

Associate Editor, 1994-2005


Associate Editor, 1993-2009

Clinical Journal of Pain,

Special Topic Series Guest Editor, Detecting Pain Deception and Malingering, 2004, pp. 377-439

Editorial Board, 1999-

Pediatric Pain NewsletterE

Editorial Board, 1997- 2004

Canadian Journal of Behavioural Science

Editor, 1985-1989

Associate Editor, 1974-81

Editorial Board, 1974-81, 1985-1994

Banff International Behavioral Science Series

Sage Publications, 1988-1999, Editor


Canadian Psychological Association Foundation, President, 2009-

Association of Professors Emeriti, University of British Columbia, Executive Committee, 2004 to present: President, 2009-2010, Past-president, 2010-2011

National Research Council, Canadian National Committee for the International Union of Psychological Science, 2005-2011

Canadian Pain in Child Health Society, President, 2004 -

International Association for the Study of Pain, Governing Council, 2002–2008

Canadian Academy of Pain Management, Board of Directors, 2006-

Co-Chair, Symposium Organizing Committee, International Symposium on Pediatric Pain, Vancouver, June 25-29, 2006

Canadian Pain Society, President, 1994-1997, Past-President, 1997-2000, Executive Board, 1988-2000, 2006-

Canadian Psychological Association, President, 1986-87, Past-President, 1987-88, Board of Directors, 1982-88, Fellow.

Chair, Canadian Institutes of Health Research Peer Review Committee on Strategic Training Programs in Health Research (B), March 2006

Banff International Conferences on Behavioural Science, President, 1994-1997; Treasurer, 1981-1994, Secretary, 1995 – present, Board of Directors, 1981-

Canadian Pain Foundation, Board of Directors, 1989-

Social Science Federation of Canada, Treasurer-1988-1992; Board of Directors, 1986-1992

Sigma Xi (The Scientific Research Society), President, U.B.C. Chapter, 1986-87

National Research Council, Advisory Committee on Psychology, 1987-1994

British Columbia Psychological Association, President, 1977

Canadian Council of Clinical Psychology Programe Directors, Co-ordinator, 1980-1983

Accreditation Panel for Programmes in Professional Psychology, Canadian Psychological Association, Chair, 1984-1985

International Association for the Study of Pain.  Chair, Local Arrangements Committee, World Congress on Pain, Vancouver, August, 1996.

American Psychological Association, Fellow (Divisions 12, 38)

International Association for the Study of Pain, Founding Member

Academy of Behavioral Medicine Research, Fellow

Society of Behavioral Medicine, Fellow

College of Psychologists of British Columbia, Registered Psychologist (#2).

Canadian Red Cross Society: Chair, National First Aid Programme Committee, 1987-1988, National Advisor, 1988-1990


Clinical health psychology, pain in infants and children, psychological and interpersonal factors in pain, pain in persons with communication limitations, pain assessment and management, pediatric psychology, clinical psychology, behavioural medicine, health promotion.


Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council: 2009-2012, “Perceiving Pain in Others”

Canadian Institutes of Health Research, Strategic Training Program, Pain in Child Health (co-Principal Investigator with P.J. McGrath, Nominated Principal Investigator, and Co-Investigators K.D. Craig, A.E. Finley, R.E. Grunau, C.J. Johnston, B. Stevens, and C. von Baeyer). 2009-2015